Tallahassee Town Hall
A yearly conversation about the hometown we share
March 20, 2024 @ 6 PM | WFSU Studio
let's do democracy.

There’s nothing more quintessentially American than a town hall meeting. Within its ethos is the important founding principle that political foes must grudgingly become partners as they engage conflicting ideas in order to govern. It’s the old-fashioned spirit of rolling up our sleeves and just getting it done. We hope you’ll join us to be a part of it either live in the WFSU studio or via Zoom.

Our annual town hall hosts commissioners from the City of Tallahassee and Leon County to have a constructive (and neighborly) discussion about where we are, where we’re going and what the challenges out there on the horizon might be. You know, democracy. Booyah. (Look – Washington – at how it’s done.) Our town hall is facilitated by the one and only Tom Flanigan of WFSU and powered by the Tallahassee Democrat and Leadership Tallahassee.

In-person attendance will be limited. The program also will be available via Zoom, and livestreamed at wfsu.org/live and on Facebook Live.

Can’t make the event in person? Submit your questions before the event here.


In a time when too many town hall meetings make the news with fistfights (egged on by professional polarizers who make big money – or win elections – if we can’t stand each other) we think it’s past time to breathe a little new life in the old-fashioned town hall. Lost in all the time we focus on the highly divisive national slugfest are the issues that affect us locally, personally, everyday. Besides, if we’re not showing up to help make the decisions important in our hometown, who will?

(Read us blathering on about Tocqueville and America and just what an important thing you’re doing by moseying on down to the town hall when really it just seemed like something small.)


John Dailey | Mayor
City of Tallahassee
Dianne Williams-Cox | Commissioner
City of Tallahassee
Curtis Richardson | Commissioner
City of Tallahassee
Jack Porter | Commissioner
City of Tallahassee
Carolyn Cummings | Commissioner
Leon County
Nick Maddox | Commissioner
Leon County
Rick Minor | Commissioner
Leon County
Brian Welch | Commissioner
Leon County
David O'Keefe | Commissioner
Leon County